#### PART A

**Report to:** Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Date of meeting: 28 June 2018

**Report of:** Committee and Scrutiny Officer

**Title:** Community Safety Partnership Task Group 2018/19

## 1.0 **Summary**

1.1 Overview and Scrutiny Committee is required to agree the membership of the Community Safety Partnership Task Group and appoint its chair.

# 2.0 Risks

2.1

Nature of Risk	Consequence	Suggested Control	Response	Risk Rating (the
		Measures	(Treat,	combination
			tolerate,	of severity and
			terminate,	likelihood)
			transfer)	
Task Group's	The council	The political	Treat	4
membership is	does not meet	groups are		
not appointed	its statutory	asked to put		
as no	duty	forward		
members put		names whilst		
their name		they are		
forward to be		considering		
on the group.		the other		
		committee		
		appointments		
		following the		
		local elections.		

# 3.0 **Recommendations**

- 3.1 That Overview and Scrutiny Committee agree the membership of the Community Safety Partnership Task Group.
- That Overview and Scrutiny Committee appoints a chair from the Community Safety Partnership Task Group's membership.

#### **Contact Officer:**

For further information on this report please contact: Sandra Hancock,

Committee and Scrutiny Officer telephone extension: 01923 278377

email: <a href="mailto:legalanddemocratic@watford.gov.uk">legalanddemocratic@watford.gov.uk</a>

**Report approved by:** Head of Democracy and Governance

## 4.0 **Detailed proposal**

- 4.1 The Community Safety Partnership Task Group is a permanent task group reporting to Overview and Scrutiny Committee. The council has a statutory duty to scrutinise the local crime and disorder partnership.
- 4.2 The appointment of the task group's membership and chair is delegated to Overview and Scrutiny Committee.
- 4.3 The Community Safety Partnership Task Group does not have to be politically balanced and is open all non-executive councillors. The membership is usually limited to a maximum of seven councillors. Substitutions are not usually permitted on task groups; however an exception is made for the Community Safety Partnership Task Group as it is not carrying out an ongoing review. Meetings are generally open to the public and the dates, agendas and minutes are published on the council's website.
- 4.4 In 2017/18 the Community Safety Partnership Task Group comprised the following seven non-executive councillors
  - Councillor Amanda Grimston (Chair)
  - Councillor Stephen Bolton
  - Councillor Stephen Cavinder
  - Councillor Jagtar Singh Dhindsa
  - Councillor Mo Mills
  - Councillor Glen Saffery
  - Councillor Richard Smith

### 4.5 Committee Membership 2018/19

Following the elections on the 3 May 2018, the Democratic Services Manager emailed the political groups on the council for nominations to all committees. She included the Community Safety Partnership Task Group and noted that the membership would be agreed by Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

4.6 The following councillors were nominated for membership of the task group –

### **Liberal Democrat Group**

- Councillor Stephen Cavinder
- Councillor Keith Crout
- Councillor Kareen Hastrick
- Councillor Rabi Martins
- Councillor Glen Saffery

### **Labour Group**

- Councillor Jagtar Singh Dhindsa
- Councillor Bilgees Mauthoor
- Councillor Mo Mills
- 4.7 The membership for Community Safety Partnership Task Group is limited to seven, as agreed at Annual Council on 22 May 2018. There have been a total of eight nominations to the task group. The scrutiny committee will need to consider appointing seven councillors from the eight named above.
- 4.8 Community Safety Partnership Task Group Chair

Overview and Scrutiny Committee is required to appoint the task group's chair. This follows a decision by Council on 11 October 2016.

- 4.9 The task group's chair should be a member of Overview and Scrutiny Committee, as they will be required to report back to Overview and Scrutiny Committee on the work being carried out. The following councillors are members of Overview and Scrutiny Committee
  - Councillor Stephen Cavinder
  - Councillor Keith Crout
  - Councillor Kareen Hastrick
  - Councillor Rabi Martins
  - Councillor Jagtar Singh Dhindsa

### 4.10 Work Programme

The timetable of meetings for 2018/19, agreed at Annual Council, indicates there are three meetings scheduled –

- Tuesday 24 July 2018
- Monday 5 November 2018
- Wednesday 13 March 2019

- 4.11 The first meeting will provide an opportunity to consider the work programme for the rest of the year.
- 5.0 **Implications**
- 5.1 Financial
- 5.1.1 The Shared Director of Finance comments that there are no financial implications for this report as the resources needed for this programme as drafted are within the Council's approved budget.
- 5.2 **Legal Issues** (Monitoring Officer)
- 5.2.1 The Head of Democracy and Governance comments that it is a legal requirement for the Council to scrutinise the local crime and disorder partnership.
- 5.3 **Equalities/Human Rights**
- 5.3.1 Having had regard to the council's obligations under s149 of the Equality Act, it is considered that there are no implications.
- 5.4 **Staffing**
- 5.4.1 There are no staffing implications.
- 5.5 **Accommodation**
- 5.5.1 There are no accommodation implications.
- 5.6 **Community Safety/Crime and Disorder**
- 5.6.1 The Community Safety Partnership Task Group ensures the council carries out its legal duty to scrutinise the local crime and disorder partnership.
- 5.7 **Sustainability**
- 5.7.1 There are no sustainability implications.

### **Appendices**

None

## **Background Papers**

There are no background documents attached to this report.

### **File Reference**

None